2012 Emmys: Outstanding Comedy Category – The WINNERS!

Image

The 64th Primetime Emmys got things out to a funny start. We begin with the winners in the Outstanding Comedy Series:

Outstanding Comedy Series

The Big Bang Theory (CBS)

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO)

Girls (HBO)

Modern Family (ABC)

30 Rock (NBC)

Veep (HBO)

Funmi’s Pick: The favorite is Modern Family. It has won for the past two years. I will say that The Big Bang Theory had a stellar year and I would be pleased if it won. However, I say Modern Family will take it home for a third year in a row.

Tom’s Pick: Modern Family will snag it again. The show is just too hip and…well, modern…not to.

Mark’s Pick: Girls could surprise us, but it’s not strong enough… it’s going to be Modern Family again

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

Girls (HBO)

Lena Dunham as Hannah Horvath

Mike & Molly (CBS)

Melissa McCarthy as Molly Flynn

New Girl (FOX)

Zooey Deschanel as Jess Day

Nurse Jackie (SHO)

Edie Falco as Jackie Peyton

Parks And Recreation (NBC)

Amy Poehler as Leslie Knope

30 Rock (NBC)

Tina Fey as Liz Lemon

VEEP (SHO)

JULIA LOUIS-DREYFUS AS SELINA MEYER

Funmi’s Pick: Amy Poehler! I love you Melissa McCarthy, but I do think you only won last year because of Bridesmaids.

Tom’s Pick: Lena Dunham. While I’m not a fan of Girls, I’ve seen it, and her quirky performance is pretty impressive.

Mark’s Pick: Julia Louis-Dreyfus all the way!  She is hysterical in Veep and her performance is so nuanced and layered… I never knew what she was going to say or do next!  If not Julia, then it’s gotta finally be Amy Poehler.  Lena hasn’t proven herself yet as an actress.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

The Big Bang Theory (CBS)

Jim Parsons as Sheldon Cooper

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO)

Larry David as Himself

House Of Lies (SHO)

Don Cheadle as Marty Kaan

Louie (FX)

Louis C.K. as Louie

30 Rock (NBC)

Alec Baldwin as Jack Donaghy

TWO AND A HALF MEN (CBS)

JON CRYER AS ALAN HARPER

Funmi’s Pick: Totally wishful thinking, but I’m a huge fan of Don Cheadle and he KILLED it as Marty Kaan on House of Lies.But can anyone beat Jim Parson’s at this point?

Tom’s Pick: Jim Parsons. Especially with his whole coming out thing earlier this year.

Mark’s Pick: Why is Don Cheadle even nominated?  Did anyone like that show he was on? (Besides Funmi lol)  I don’t watch the Big Bang Theory but I assume Jim Parsons is in the lead… or it could be interesting if Louis C.K. takes it home, since he and his show are constantly talked about.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

The Big Bang Theory (CBS)

Mayim Bialik as Amy Farrah Fowler

Desperate Housewives (ABC)

Kathryn Joosten as Karen McCluskey

MODERN FAMILY (NBC)

JULIE BOWEN AS CLAIRE DUNPHY

Modern Family (ABC)

Sofia Vergara as Gloria Delgado-Pritchett

Nurse Jackie (SHO)

Merritt Wever as Zoey Barkow

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Kristen Wiig as various characters

Funmi’s Pick: Mayim Bialik,  Mayim Bialik,  Mayim Bialik!!!! If you watch the Big Bang Theory, I don’t even understand how this could be up for discussion.

Tom’s Pick: I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that they may actually give it to Kahtryn Joosten. She’s been a veteran character actress for years, and she’s quite good. There were many a times when she saved Desperate Housewives.

Mark’s Pick:  Some good ladies here… but ultimately I have to go with Kristen Wiig.  SNL will feel lonely without her. Merritt Wever is also hilarious on “Nurse Jackie” but unfortunately I don’t think she shines bright enough with these ladies.  I hear everyone loves Mayim so it could be her… didn’t she just recently lose a thumb?  Will it be hard for her to hold the award?

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Modern Family (ABC)

Ed O’Neill as Jay Pritchett

Modern Family (ABC)

Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Mitchell Pritchett

Modern Family (ABC)

Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy

MODERN FAMILY (ABC)

ERIC STONESTREET AS CAMERON TUCKER

New Girl (FOX)

Max Greenfield as Schmidt

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Bill Hader as various characters

Funmi’s Pick: If you know me, you know how much I love Max Greenfield and his role as Schmidt on New Girl. So I would jump and scream for him if he won. But this will go to one of the actors from Modern Family. This year, I choose Eric Stonestreet.

Tom’s Pick: Eric Stonestreet. His performance as Cam is just too honest and heartfelt and downright funny for him not to win.

Mark’s Pick: Max Greenfield is funny, but sometimes obnoxious, so it’s not him.  It’s probably going to be one of the Modern Family guys… I couldn’t keep up last season so I kinda stopped watching.  Maybe Ed O’Neill?

 

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Comedy Series

Glee (FOX)

Dot-Marie Jones as Coach Shannon Beiste

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Maya Rudolph, Host

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Melissa McCarthy, Host

30 Rock (NBC)

Elizabeth Banks as Avery Jessup

30 Rock

Margaret Cho as Kim Jong-il

TWO AND A HALF MEN (CBS)

KATHY BATES AS CHARLIE HARPER

Funmi’s Pick: I have to be honest and admit I don’t have a favorite in this category. It’s a wash for me, but I’ll go with Maya Rudolph.

Tom’s Pick: Is Melissa McCarthy still hot? I don’t know. Talk about her has kind of died down in a post-Bridesmaids world. But, I think she’s super funny, and so I’m going to go with her.

Mark’s Pick: I’d love it if Dot Jones won for Glee because she is such an interesting actress.  However it’s probably going to be Melissa McCarthy… that SNL episode made me laugh so hard I might have peed a little.

 

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO)

Michael J. Fox as Himself

Modern Family (ABC)

Greg Kinnear as Tad

Nurse Jackie (SHO)

Bobby Cannavale as Dr. Mike Cruz

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE (NBC)

JIMMY FALLON, HOST

30 Rock (ABC)

Will Arnett as Devon Banks

30 Rock (NBC)

Jon Hamm as Abner and David Brinkley

 Funmi’s Pick: If we’re going with just pure love, I chose Jon Hamm. But I think Michael J. Fox will take it home, he’s an award’s darling.

Tom’s Pick: Michael J. Fox, this is all yours.

Mark’s Pick: Bobby Cannavale was very good on Nurse Jackie, however I think it’s between MJF and Jon Hamm, with Michael in the lead.  It was a cute guest appearance on a show that probably won’t get much love this year.

Leave a Reply

