Emmy Awards: Outstanding Drama Category – WINNERS!

Image

Outstanding Drama Series

Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Game Of Thrones (HBO)

Homeland (SHO)

Mad Men (AMC)

Funmi’s Pick: This is by far the hardest category to choose from. I just recently got into Breaking Bad and it’s the best show on TV! However Downton Abbey is an award’s darling, but so is Game of Thrones, Mad Men and Homeland. Oh God!!! It’s so hard to pick just one! My pick is Breaking Bad. 

Tom’s Pick: This is an extremely hard category. Unfortunately, I don’t watch a single one of these shows. I’m going to go with Homeland, though. Showtime hasn’t had a win in a while…right?

Mark’s Pick: I’m all for HOMELAND!  I love this show so much.  I still haven’t watched Downton Abbey (I know, I know), but I think Breaking Bad or Boardwalk could take the award home too.

 

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

Damages (DIRECT TV)

Glenn Close as Patty Hewes

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Michelle Dockery as Lady Mary Crawley

The Good Wife (CBS)

Julianna Margulies as Alicia Florrick

Harry’s Law (NBC)

Kathy Bates as Harriet Korn

Homeland (SHO)

Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison

Mad Men (AMC)

Elisabeth Moss as Peggy Olson

Funmi’s Pick: Julianna Margulies. I love The Good Wife. That is all.

Tom’s Pick: Clare Danes. And that’d make me happy. She’s sweet. I like her.

Mark’s Pick: Claire Danes, Claire Danes, Claire Danes!

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Steve Buscemi as Nucky Thompson

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Bryan Cranston as Walter White

Dexter (SHO)

Michael C. Hall as Dexter Morgan

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Hugh Bonneville as Robert, Earl of Grantham

Homeland (SHO)

Damian Lewis as Nicholas Brody

Mad Men (AMC)

Jon Hamm as Don Draper

Funmi’s Pick: Bryan Cranston, I just told you, Breaking Bad is the best show on TV. He will win for the fourth time.

Tom’s Pick: Bryan Cranston. I heard he works his ass off on that show.

Mark’s Pick: I agree… Bryan Cranston will probably take it.  I hear he’s awesome on the show.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Anna Gunn as Skyler White

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Maggie Smith as Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Joanne Froggatt as Anna

The Good Wife (CBS)

Archie Panjabi as Kalinda Sharma

The Good Wife (CBS)

Christine Baranski as Diane Lockhart

Mad Men (AMC)

Christina Hendricks as Joan Holloway Harris

Funmi’s Pick: Go Anna Gunn!! You killed it this year on Breaking Bad!

Tom’s Pick: Maggie Smith. She’s an Oscar favorite, so now it’s time for her to make her way toward Emmy favoritism, too.

Mark’s Pick: No idea… Maggie Smith?  Christina Hendricks I hear has been good this past season on Mad Men so she could surprise us.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Aaron Paul as Jesse Pinkman

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Giancarlo Esposito as Gustavo ‘Gus’ Fring

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Brendan Coyle as John Bates

Downton Abbey (PBS)

Jim Carter as Mr. Carson

Game Of Thrones (HBO)

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister

Mad Men (AMC)

Jared Harris as Lane Pryce

Funmi’s Pick: Aaron Paul!! Are you seeing a pattern here?

Tom’s Pick: I think Peter Dinklage is going to take it.

Mark’s Pick: I think one of the Breaking Bad guys will take this one… Aaron Paul or Giancarlo.

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Drama Series

The Good Wife (CBS)

Martha Plimpton as Patti Nyholm

Grey’s Anatomy (ABC)

Loretta Devine as Adele Webber

Harry’s Law (NBC)

Jean Smart as D.A. Roseanna Remmick

Mad Men (AMC)

Julia Ormond as Marie Calvet

Shameless (SHO)

Joan Cusack as Sheila Jackson

Smash (NBC)

Uma Thurman as Rebecca Duvall

Funmi’s Pick: Joan Cusack is amazing as Sheila Jackson and agoraphobic germophobe. She is utterly hilarious. I would be so happy for her to win.

Tom’s Pick: Loretta Devine is kind of underrated. I think she may take it home and get some recognition for some hard work. (She was on two TV shows this past season!)

Mark’s Pick: This is a tough one… I love Joan in Shameless, but I’m not sure if it’s a strong enough role for the Emmy’s.  We all know it’s not Uma Thurman.  I’ll go with Martha Plimpton.

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series

Breaking Bad (AMC)

Mark Margolis as Tio Salamanca

The Good Wife (CBS)

Dylan Baker as Colin Sweeney

The Good Wife (CBS)

Michael J. Fox as Louis Canning

Justified (FX)

Jeremy Davies as Dickie Bennett

Mad Men (AMC)

Ben Feldman as Michael Ginsberg

Parenthood (NBC)

Jason Ritter as Mark Cyr

Funmi’s Pick: Ben Feldman was great as Michael Ginsberg on Mad Men.

Tom’s Pick: If there is a God, Jason Ritter will get it. His quiet performance on the underrecognized Parenthood often makes the show. But, I’m going to go with Ben Feldman.

Mark’s Pick: No idea… Michael J. Fox or Dylan Baker?  I’m getting a Good Wife vibe from this category.

Leave a Reply

