A Retrospective of This Past TV Season

This hasn’t been a stellar year in television. Ratings have declined and a lot of fall pilots didn’t make it. Like most of you, I found myself watching a lot more cable than broadcast. But let’s be real, I still watch a HELLA amount of TV so here is my retrospective on some of the shows I watched this season by network.

ABC

Scandal

scandal_2012_624x351I’m going to start with the best show in broadcast. PERIOD. What isn’t there to say about this show? Have you been following the explosion that is Scandal? This show is BOSS. There is no other way to explain it. It has all the successful elements to make a number #1 show on television. Sex, intrigue, murder, dirty politics, adultery, high fashion, strong lead characters, a BOSS female lead and Shonda Rhimes at the helm. The season finale was ABC highest rated drama. (Probably show, but I’m to lazy to confirm.) The stars of the show live tweet with their audience every Thursday night at 10pm when the show airs so it’s like you’re watching the show with thousands of people in your living room with you. It’s not creepy, it’s fun. I’ve lost count on the people who have said they marathon Scandal and now they’re hooked. If you haven’t caught up with this show, I suggest you do the same. Watch the first season on Netflix, it’s only seven episodes.  Then catch up on season two on Hulu or ABC.com I’m telling you, you don’t want to be “that person” who isn’t watching next fall.

Nashville

nashville-headerI remember watching the pilot of Nashville. In the beginning, I wasn’t willing to give it a chance because I don’t like country music. But ABC production knows how to put together a trailer! They also released the pilot early, so I watched. I wrote to my fellow recapper Tom that it is was one of the best pilots I had seen. The writing was spectacular, Connie Britton is such a good actress, I liked the music and I even had to give it to Hayden. I didn’t hate her. But Nashville lost something along the way. The show’s progression was so incredibly slow. People expect certain things from a prime time soap – they want DRAMA. It’s not that Nashville didn’t have that, but I think they were scared to really GO THERE. So the ratings declined, I’ll admit I also stopped watching. Episodes just sat on my DVR. Towards the end of the season, I watched the last two or three episodes. The show picked up, it got better. The season finale was OK except it had every cliché in the book. “I’m pregnant,” “Will you marry me?” Car accident, “I think your my dad.” …. I can’t.  I have hopes that with all the changes Nashville is undergoing for season three, things will get better.

Happy Endings
They cancelled Happy Endings! Mama NO!!!! What was it about Happy Endings that people didn’t like? It was funny, fast, quick, the jokes were hilarious, the cast was attractive. It was our generations Friends. Or at least it was supposed to be. I’ll admit, towards the end it lost some of it’s spark. But I still laughed at least once every episode. I think a big part of the reason was that the writers felt defeated. ABC changed the shows schedule countless times. It was on Tuesday, Wednesday, no back to Tuesday, okay now it’s on Friday. I mean, the hell? There are talks that USA will pick up the series a la TBS/Cougar Town. I’m hoping this is the case. I can’t go long without Damon Wayans, Jr. on my screen every week.

tumblr_m2gup32Vll1qzw0zeo3_250

CBS

The Good Wife
The Good Wife
is one of my top 3 shows. I like to tell people it’s the most adult show I watch. What I mean by that is the writers write their characters realistic. The characters deal with their situations like adults. This season fans of Will and Alicia got what they’ve been waiting four years for… Will and Alicia finally had sex! They were finally together. But in the end, Alicia left Will. She left him because of her children and she went back to her philandering husband. Nothing against Chris Noth, I love Peter Florrick, but I don’t think he’s a good husband. Nor do I think that no matter how “good” he’s been, it changes the fact that he cheated on his wife with HOOKERS and humiliated her as a public figure. I hear people say they want Peter and Alicia back together and I just don’t understand it. Anyway, Alicia decided that her life as a mother to her two kids was more important. I also think she doesn’t want to lose her status as the State’s Attorney’s wife. This is what I mean by adult. How many politicians do this to their wives? We see it all the time.

What we also watched this season was the promotion and subsequent demotion of Alicia and Cary at Lockhart & Gardner. On another show, they probably would have had those two characters go on grand overtures on how unfair that would be and they both would have been able to get their position back. But that’s not what happens in real life. In the end, only Alicia got to stay partner, but that was a calculated move made by her bosses to stop a revolt. The beginning of the fourth season lost its way with the debacle of Kalinda’s husband, but Robert and Michelle King heard the viewers and got ride of him quickly.

I can’t finish my review of this season without mentioning the guest stars, we got Michael J Fox, Anika Noni Rose, Amanda Peet, Matthew Perry, Nathan Lane and the amazing, someone give this girl the Emmy Carrie Preston as Elsbeth Tascioni!

Elementary
Elementary
is one of those CBS shows that is a quiet success. It’s one of the few standouts of the 2012-2013 season. Fans of the British show Sherlock were adamant that CBS wasn’t going to be able to pull off an American version. But you know what CBS did? What they do best, have a number #1 show. Johnny Lee Miller is extraordinary as Sherlock Holmes. Lucy Liu plays his right hand WOman Watson. For me, the relationship between Johnny’s Sherlock and Lucy’s Watson is what drives the show. The producers have long said Sherlock and Watson will never date, and I’m okay with that. I enjoy their friendship. I love that at the start of the show, Watson was there to care for Sherlock and see him through his addiction as his sober companion, but towards the end of the season it was Sherlock teaching Watson how to be a detective and a damn good one. Elementary is your standard procedural crime drama, but it’s Johnny Lee Miller as Sherlock, the way he solves his cases with the help of Watson that keeps you tuning in every week.

FOX

The Mindy Project
I can now add The Mindy Project to my list of favorite comedies. FYI the others are: The Big Bang Theory, New Girl, Modern Family and Happy Endings. I could never get into The Office so I wasn’t aware of the brilliance that is Mindy Kaling. But this bitch is FUNNY! (I say bitch in a loving and endearing way, don’t take offense, m’kay). I love this show. I love the music featured on the show, I love the characters, I love Mindy’s quick wit, I love that she’s a mess in her personal life but a damn good doctor, I love the show’s “will they/won’t they” romance with Mindy and Danny and most of all I love that she makes no apologizes for not being a skinny chick. I have nothing negative to say about The Mindy Project. It didn’t take me time to get adjusted to the show, I’ve known since I heard M.I.A. “Bad Girls” that I would love this show. Hell, excuse me while I take a break to go listen to it now. Matter of fact, listen yourself:

FX

American Horror Story
The second installment of American Horror Story – American Horror Story: Asylum was better than the first one. Per usual Jessica Lange slayed. I’m expecting Sarah Paulson to be nominated for an Emmy award. What her character went through? Unlawfully imprisoned, raped, stalked, homegurl went THROUGH it. Zachary Quinto hasn’t signed on for season three, but I’m hoping he is brought on in some capacity. Have you guys been keeping up with all the casting notices for the third season? Along with the regulars: Jessica Lange, Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Lily Rabe and Frances Conroy, next year guest stars include, Angela Bassett, Kathy Bates, Patti LuPone and Emma Roberts. American Horror Story: Coven is set to premiere October.

The Americans
When I saw that Keri Russell was returning to television I said, “Sign me up!”  When I saw she was going to be staring with Matthew Rhys aka Kevin Walker from Brothers & Sisters I was ecstatic! When you hear about the premise of The Americans you probably think it’s boring. No one wants to hear about Russian spy’s living in the 1980s. We’re in the 21st century and we’ve got Homeland. In The Americans Phillip and Elizabeth Jennings are KGB secret agents living under the disguise as a married couple living in Washington, D.C with two children. The Americans is a quiet show. It’s not overly flashy there aren’t any jaw dropping cliff hangers but it lets the writing speak for itself.

Showtime


Shameless

Episode-3-04-The-Helpful-Gallaghers-shameless-us-33484693-650-433 Oh, Shameless, I don’t have much to say that Jennie Ross hasn’t already said. You know how they say that each person has a friend or someone in their life they call when they’re feeling bad about themselves? You know, to make them feel better about their own life because said friend is worse off? Don’t judge me, you know it’s true and you know you have that person. Well, that’s what this show is. Siblings who live in the slums of Chicago and have a crazy mother and an alcoholic father. But you know what? They’re a family. They take care of one another and look out for each other. This season found Fiona and Jimmy aka Steve living together, Lip hopefully going to MIT and Liam enlisting in the army. But nothing stays positive for the Gallagher’s. Steve started cheating on Fiona because he couldn’t handle her lifestyle, Lip’s psycho girlfriend ran over his psycho ex and Liam’s secret boyfriend married a Russian prostitute because he was scared his father would murder him and Liam for being in a homosexual relationship. On top of that Frank aka daddy Gallagher was hospitalized because his years of drinking finally caught up with him. We can’t forget about their best friends and neighbors Veronica and Kevin. Veronica wanted to be a mother but couldn’t get pregnant because of a past sexually transmitted disease, so she enlisted her mother as a surrogate to get pregnant. No seriously, Veronica forced her husband Kevin to have sex with her own mother so she and Kevin could have and raise a baby. You have to watch people!

Bravo

Real Housewives of Atlanta
real-housewives-of-atlanta-cast2
This is one of my favorite shows – EVER! I’ve watched from the beginning and unlike some of the other Real Housewives *cough Orange Country cough* this one has NEVER gone stale. I mean this show, these ladies are the shiz. NeNe Leakes will always be funny. That’s why she’s the highest paid housewife of the whole franchise. This season they brought a new housewife and she’s a particular gem, Miss Kenya Moore! Honey, this chick is coco for Cocoa Puffs. But she knows how to entertain child! She’s “Gone with the Wind Fabulous” and if you call her Miss America when she’s really Miss USA she’ll “twirl” you out. Did you guys see that reunion show? Kenya brought a prop. That FAN! Chiiillld, I can’t! I was laughing so hard I couldn’t breathe. This season was more lighthearted than most. I’m sure that contributed to why I liked it so much, but don’t get it twisted, these ladies brought the drama too. I’m counting down the days until I can get my next fix on the sixth season. Until then I have my other ratchet show, Love and Hip-Hop Atlanta

Alright ladies and gents, there you have it. If you stuck around to read this whole thing, those are my thoughts on the 2012-2013 television season. I’ll be recapping Breaking Bad when it returns this August, so keep an eye out for that!

Leave a Reply

