So…What Do You Think of the New Shows This Fall?

Now that the new fall season is officially under way, here’s what I’ve thought so far about some of the NEW shows:

 CBS
Image

“Mom” – B+
This show is funny! They play off the issues of mother and daughter well. They’re both alcoholics and they are both trying to be better mother’s to their children. This is no surprise since it is produced by Chuck Lorre. But I have to give it to Allison Janney and Anna Faris they have good comedic timing.

Image

“Hostages” – C
What a disappointment. This was probably one of the most highly anticipated shows of the fall season. But “Hostages” is nothing like I thought it was going to be. All the elements are there, intrigue, kidnapping, attempted murder of President of the United States…but the major problem with this show – it’s boring. It’s just so unbelievably boring.

Image

“The Crazy Ones” – B
Robin Williams is back, Sarah Michelle Gellar is back! They play off each other well.  This isn’t your typical comedy show. I like to think of it as very season one of Ally McBeal.

 NBC

Image

“The Blacklist” – A
Are you watching this show? If you’re not, you should be. It’s by far the best new drama of the fall season. It’s everything I thought “Hostages” was going to be. I guess NBC was finally tired of coming in last because they’re not fooling around with this show.

FOX

Sleepy-Hollow-Title

“Sleepy Hollow” – B
I don’t know why I like “Sleepy Hollow” so much. It’s corny, it’s basically FOX’s version of “Grimm” and I never watched that, but something about “Sleepy Hollow” works. Tom Mison does a really good job of being quirky and trying to adjust to the present time. My only issue with the show is that I hope they cut his hair soon.

Image

“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” –C
I know I’m in the minority here and I’m sure a lot of people are going to take issue with what I’m about to say, but I’ve never thought Andy Samberg was funny. Therefore I don’t think his show is funny. It has its moments, but all in all.. the show is kind of blah.

 ABC

stuart-townsend-hannah-ware-betrayal

“Betrayal”  – D
The two leads have NO chemistry. It’s absurd that ABC would want to have a show where they’re promoting adultery but you can’t root for the two leads because there is no spark between them. They are no Olivia and Fitz. They even have a horrible flash-forward to Hannah Ware’s character being shot. #nononecare

Image

“Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D” – C
I love Marvel. I love all the Marvel movies. But this show bores me. It bores me to know end. It appears it bores some of you as well because the ratings have slipped 34 percent despite a guest appearance from Samuel L. Jackson.

Image

“Lucky 7” – F
I would have to put this in the running for one of the very first shows cancelled this season. It’s so dull. I got through the first 15 minutes before shutting it off and deleting it from my DVR.

Image

“Trophy Wife” – D
You’re kidding right?

SHO

Image

“Masters of Sex” – A
Let’s talk about sex, baby! Let’s talk about you and me.. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. In “Masters of Sex” … well, there is a TON of sex, some of it is hot sex, some of it is research sex, but nevertheless… this show is interesting. Lizzy Caplan is bringing it as Virginia Johnson, a woman way ahead of her time and Michael Sheen plays the rigid William Masters superbly. Watch it! The premiere is available online. Or at the very least marathon it on demand.

Leave a Reply

