Scream Queens – Did It Slay or Kill Your Hopes and Dream?

tumblr_static_e56o0mqdeaog4gw88s0sc4884

Scream Queens finally arrived. After an intense summer long marketing campaign, last night everyone finally got to see what all the fuss was about. Reviews have been mixed and we are no exception. Some of us hated it, some of us loved it.

Tom: I knew from the very opening scene of Scream Queens that the show wasn’t going to be for me. Don’t get me wrong…the production value is high, the set pieces are gorgeous, the acting is strong (particularly Jamie Lee Curtis), and the writing is sharp, but I was hoping that the series would be more horror than comedy, more serious than satire. It was too campy and over-the-top for my liking (True Blood satisfied my camp fix years ago). At 29, I’m on the cusp of the Millennial and Gen X. So, maybe I’m too old for this uber meta and uber timely show? Or maybe I love Scream too much for another edgy horror-comedy to ever take its place in my book? Whatever the case, this queen didn’t scream at all—for fear or joy—at the first two episodes.

Funmi: I disagree with Tom. Scream Queens was the right amount of campy, the right amount of funny and the right amount of gory. I thought Ryan Murphy’s satirical take on our political and cultural society right now was very smart. (Spoiler Alert: When Ariana’s Grande’s ‘Chanel #2’ character gets murdered, but she still has to get out her tweet.) How many stories have we seen in the news of late similar to that? It was over the top, ridiculous and smart. Scream Queens is exactly like every other show Ryan Murphy has done. He’s timely, quick-witted, offensive, truthful and funny. The only thing I didn’t like was premiere night being two hours long. I mentally checked out 90 minutes in. But it’s on my DVR list and I’ll be tuning in next week.

Leave a Reply

